2014 is in the books!

I have just triumphantly finished my 2014 book goal! Horray! Hurrah! Huzzah! Cheerio!!

As I am typing this there are literally fireworks going off in the neighborhood behind mine, so I am feeling very celebrated by the world at large.

If you’re interested in the breakdown of my 50 books for the year, you can find them at the top of the page. You can also see last year’s unsuccessful list and 2012’s 50 books. I say that 2013 was unsuccessful, but when I consider that I’ve read 130 some books in the last three years I feel pretty accomplished! (More fireworks, I’m raising my can of cherry coke zero)

And so in a few short hours I will embark again upon the quest to read and enjoy books of all genres, types, and length. Before I get in my car and race to the bookstore, though, here are my top books from 2014:

All Around Most Delightful: Letters to Children by C.S. Lewis

Most Practical: Boundaries with Teens by Dr. John Townsend

Best Biography: The Terrible Speed of Mercy by Jonathan Rogers

Most Harrowing: Atonement by Ian McEwan

Most Accurate Portrait of This Season of Life: A Circle of Quiet by Madeleine L’Engle

Most-Read Author: Rick Riordan

Latest to the Party: The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

Best Old Book: Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh

Best New Book: Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain by Oliver Sacks

And there you have it! Here’s to 2015, to new goals, and to all that waits for us in the month ahead. May your new year be full of blessings, both hidden and in disguise.

Leave a Reply

