Bug on a Windshield

IMG_6406.JPG

I’m not a bug person. In fact, I’m whatever you would call the direct opposite of a bug person. But this little guy was on my windshield as I left work and I couldn’t help but feel for him.

As I sped up on the way home he adjusted his stance and spread his legs so that he could maintain his balance in the wind. I’ve never identified more with a bug. Sometimes I feel like I am holding on for dear life while everything rushes by me at a million miles per hour.

The winds in my life are full of wonderful and frustrating things: work, family, the swiftly approaching holidays, doubts, fears, happiness, students, friends, bills, ambitions, dreams.

I am learning that whenever I feel like a bug in the wind I should ask myself what GOD says about the winds in my life.

He uses the winds to teach us.

Jonah 1:4–But the LORD hurled a great wind upon the sea, and there was a mighty tempest on the sea, so that the ship threatened to break up.

He sends us winds to revive us.

Ezekiel 37:9–Then he said to me, “Prophesy to the breath; prophesy, son of man, and say to the breath, Thus says the Lord GOD: Come from the four winds, O breath, and breathe on these slain, that they may live.”

He uses them to show us His power.

Jeremiah 10:13–When he utters his voice, there is a tumult of waters in the heavens, and he makes the mist rise from the ends of the earth. He makes lightning for the rain, and he brings forth the wind from his storehouses.

He sends a wind to save us.

John 3:7-8– 7 Do not marvel that I said to you, ‘You must be born again. The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear its sound, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes. So it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit.”

These are the things I need to remember when I am feeling overwhelmed.

Leave a Reply

