The Home Stretch

It’s here: the home stretch of my 50 book goal. I’ve read 41 books since January 1st, and I’ve selected the last 10 I will read before December 31st. There are ten because I’m relatively sure I won’t finish all of them, so I want to cover myself a little bit!

IMG_6378.JPG

Atonement by Ian McEwan: I’m halfway through it and love it so far!

Henry IV, Part I: Because I told myself I’d read all of Shakespeare by the time I’m 25.

Orthodoxy by Chesterton: Because it’s phenomenally good, and I’ve been almost finished with it since 2012!

The Storytelling God by Jared C. Wilson: This is yet another that I’ve started but haven’t finished, and it’s excellent so far!

Outliers by Malcom Gladwell: Reading for the sake of curiosity and cultural relevance.

The Brothers Karamazov by Dostoyevsky: Because shouldn’t we all read at least one Russian masterpiece each year?

Musicophilia by Oliver Sacks: Fascinating stories of the brain and music!

The Daydreamer by Ian McEwan: Impulse purchase that looks like it might pay off.

Everything that Rises Must Converge by Flannery O’Connor: I’m learning that I can only take Flannery in small doses. Maybe I’ll get to her novels next year.

Behold the Lamb of God by Russ Ramsey: A Christmas favorite I know I’ll read. Which means there’s less pressure to finish the Dostoyevsky.

Do you plan out your reading to accomplish a goal? This is a first for me!

Leave a Reply

